Why is the Championship 18+ only?

I was just wanting some sort of answer for it because when they first announced the tournament, 343 didn’t really clarify much about it. I started playing Rumble Pit and got really hyped for this tournament and then 343 came out and said 18+. Does anybody know what the reasoning for that is because I know every other tournament with a large payout is normally any age with parental consent or even 17+ with parental consent. Call of Duty’s Championship was 17+ with parental consent, so why can’t this Halo’s be?

That is just the law I think. Most contests/tournaments usually have you be at least 18. Which sucks for me considering that I am 15.

Every tournament in my recent memory(aside from the first Halo 4 tournament)has been 17+ at the VERY least. All I’m trying to get across is if previous tournaments have pulled off parental consent, I don’t understand why this one can not.

> Every tournament in my recent memory(aside from the first Halo 4 tournament)has been 17+ at the VERY least. All I’m trying to get across is if previous tournaments have pulled off parental consent, I don’t understand why this one can not.

It will certainly be due to laws in various regions. Even if they can have it open to every age, you can be sure they have to jump through a number of hoops to make it legal.

Can you link/name said tournaments?

I googled the COD championship you mentioned and took this from their FAQS

> All participants must be at least 18 years of age to qualify through the Black Ops II World League in game. See official rules for more details. For regional qualification events, please visit MLG here and ESL here for eligibility requirements.
> link

I can’t 100% tell what that means since I’ve rarely played BO2. You may have been able to play at 17 in your region, but you certainly weren’t allowed to qualify, and in other regions you may not have been able to play at all. In H4 they have blanket restrictions across all regions.