What Halo Needs To Survive

This will be straight to the point.
I have been playing Halo since 2002 and have seen it rise and fall.
Halo has been dead since Halo:Reach came out. This is all due to Bungie implementing a casual side of Halo. Lets take a step back for a moment. Halo 1 had a formula consisting of Grenades, Melee and Guns. This is the basics for a good Halo game. It had other things, like Active Camo and Overshield, BUT these were things you had to FIGHT for or you had the skill to grenade the powerup and have it be launched to you. This was extremely hard in my opinion, thus creating a skillgap just for a powerup.

Halo 2 comes out. Huge success and MLG starts to be noticed by the average Halo player. What did Halo 2 do right? Why was it popular?
Besides the fact that it BUILD the Xbox Live Experience(Friends list,Message system and Matchmaking)it was a great COMPETITIVE TITLE. This is what games need. They need to be as hard as the other player makes it for you. Just as a more recent example, Titanfall is a HORRIBLE competitive title. This game has no Skill Based Ranking System, Sprint and HUGE maps. What is a skill based ranking system? An IN GAME visible rank that is based off of Wins and Losses. THIS IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT. This keeps people wanting to play. This Ranking system needs to be hard to reach and hard to keep. Ranks should be reset at the end of a season once every couple of months, moving on. Halo 2 also had BXR and Double Shot Triple shot etc.