Vehicle Balancing Proposal

I’m going to start this out by saying I’m a big fan of Halo 5 and this isn’t really a “343 plz” and more of just a simple discussion starter. I’m not a game developer. I don’t know what the specific philosophy behind Halo 5’s game design is. I know how hard balancing a game is and how seemingly minor changes can have much larger consequences down the road as the metagame develops.

That being said, after hearing and reading many complaints/ comments both online and off regarding the state of vehicle combat in Halo 5, I’ve been thinking as a sort of thought experiment how I would go about addressing what I’ve interpreted as reoccurring issues with vehicle combat. This is just my opinion after all, and I’m sure there are some flaws with this idea, but I’m going to put it out there and see what you guys think. Here goes:

For the sake of simplicity, I’m going to define terms I will use in advance:

"Heavy Weapons" refers to the following weapons:

• Rocket Launcher/ SPNKr - Sniper - Railgun - Spartan Laser - Scorpion’s Main Gun - Gungoose’s Grenades - Gauss Turret - Rocket Turret - Mantis Rockets - Mantis Chaingun - Beam Rifle - Charged Plasma Caster Shot - Fuel Rod Gun (Banshee too) - Plasma Nade Stuck to Vehicle - Wraith Plasma Mortar - Binary Rifle - Incineration Cannon - Chaingun - Plasma Cannon (Ghost/ Banshee too) - Splinter Turret - Phaeton Hard Light Cannons - Phaeton Rockets - Anything with explosive bullets (Ex: The Answer)“Small Arms” refers to the following weapons

• Magnum - AR - BR/ H2 BR - DMR - SMG - SAW - Shotgun - Hydra - Frag Grenade Explosion - Storm Rifle - Plasma Pistol (can still critically damage vehicle weak spots however) - Needler (Except Talon of the Lost) - Carbine - Energy Sword - Uncharged Plasma Caster Shot - Non-stuck Plasma Grenade Explosion - Boltshot - Supressor - Lightrifle - Scattershot - Splinter Grenade**“Tanks”** refers to the Scorpion and Wraith
    "Aircraft" refers to the Phaeton and Banshee