Thoughts on Ranked and BR

After roughly 100 games, mostly ranked only let me share some thoughts on ranked and tell me what you think about it.

Just a short recap: I loved ranked and hardcore in H3 and stayed with the MLG list till it died. I mostly play around high diamnond/low onyx so I’m would consider myself not a complete noob but far from really good. Most of the times I play alone or with a friend.

So, what about Infinite ranked now? Well, it is fun and on the first glimpse it is “pro”. No radar, FF, no grenade hitmarkers. BR start, no AR… sounds good, right? Yes… for the first week… and then it gets pretty boring.

But why? I never thought I’d say it, but the problem is… the BR. I love this weapon and was always on the side of Halo = BR. Precision weapons all FTW.

So whats the problem with it? IMO there are 3 main reasons:

1. it’s a freakin laser over every distance. Take Behemoth for instance. The snipe plays almost no role because of the nerf it got and people still four shot you across the whole map with the BR. Why bother taking the harder to use weapon when you got a mini snipe at your disposal?

2. the long shield recharge. In theory I like this change. But on smaller maps almost every 5 seconds someone shots at you from anywhere on the map. So when you finally encounter an opponent you aren’t full shield and get killed. Thats the same thing with the AR on social.

3. There is absolutely no alternative to the weapon. The AR comes in handy close combat, but compare it to H5. Started with the Magnum you got a good alround precision weapon. But picking up the BR or DMR gave you a good advantage. This is completely missing from Infinite.

2 Things that bother me as well: