Thoughts on Halo 5 From a Game Designer

First a little background on myself: I’m a 3d animator and game designer, having worked on ESPN NFL 2K5 (and 6 before cancelation) and NBA 2K5-10, helping steer it away from the 2k4 low point to what it is today. I ran a successful educational app LLC for a few years before selling my ownership shares. I’m currently not in the video game industry but love Halo and want to give my thoughts on how to improve, as I would love for it to return to my pastime.

Stop Chasing Other Franchises
343, your brand is Halo. It isn’t one of a few major a FPS franchises, it is is own sub-genre. If you embrace it, you’ll restore the franchise to the top. If you ignore it, you’ll cease to be a trend-setter, and instead become the space FPS. Nintendo didn’t launch its latest iteration of Smash Brothers by trying to incorporate Street Fighter mechanics - they realized that 1997ish game play didn’t somehow become stale, it just needed polish. They’re their own sub-genre, and so too should you be.

Map Design
I don’t know who is doing your map design now, but they’re missing the key components of Halo maps. Take a look at the classic map Zanzibar: no matter where I am I can find my bearings by looking at the central wheel. It’s the “weenie” concept Disney uses at their parks to help orient guests (think a central castle, a giant golf ball, a huge tree). Beaver Creek has the earthen incline, Lockout the distinct sides, Waterworks a central pump, Blood Gulch had orienting dark and sunny sides. Now look at Empire… it’s too busy cramming in clamber spots to make it beautiful, distinct, and orienting. It feels sterile, cold. It needs personality, landmarks, and originality.

Controls