This is why kd ratio means absolutely nothing

Basically if you have a high kd, its because matchmaking made you carry teams which could be because of people you are partied up with or who the other team is partied up with.

So if everyone played their exact skill level, their kd would just be pretty much about 1.

Just a random thought I’d share. When I realised this, I think my mental game went up and I started playing better.

5 Likes

There are examples of pro teams that outslay (by a decent margin like 10-15 kills) and still end up losing objective modes, most recent example was the Optic vs Faze match in Pro Series.

K/D is massively overrated unless you only play Slayer.

4 Likes

K/D has never been a good stat to measure a players impact on the game.

Although generally a player who plays well every game will naturally have a better k/d. Realistically though with tight skill based matchmaking, I’d say anything over 1.2 k/d is very solid.

Like you said against perfectly matched opposition your k/d would be 1.0. Reminds me of Modern Warfare 2019, my k/d was 0.99 and I felt my lobbies were incredibly hard. My friend who fancies himself a strong CoD player played some games with me and I was going 100+ kills with minimal deaths in his lobbies. On the other side I always felt I’m a beast but when I play Warzone with two of my friends I can barely get a kill. They’re absolute mm monsters at the game.

Looking at my k/d I feel awful yet I still know against the average player I’m still very good. Yet to really good players, I am still nothing.

2 Likes

Though KD is never a good measure on a players impact on the game I will say the reason you’ve come to realization is because 343 changed the core gameplay to never be able to win a 1v2 in a fight using skill. So honestly KD doesn’t even matter even in slayer anymore.

1 Like

KD only matters in Slayer.