The more I read the updates...

And what Frankie has to say about them, the better I’m feeling about Halo 4. I was originally among the crowd that had my hand to my mouth in utter surprise at what they’d dare impliment after all of Reach’s struggles. Yet the more I’ve let it stew, the more I’ve seen from 343i’s team members when they /vaguely/ touch on what has been said, the better I’ve started to feel.

I’ll give you the blatant truth: I started playing CE in the half year following up to Halo 2’s release. I didn’t get Halo 2 until at least a year after release, as I always played at a friend’s back then. I wasn’t a very ardent gamer until Halo 3 (which, don’t use my current account as reference- I had to make a new one post-Halo 3), but here I am.

Just because they’re implimenting similar components doesn’t mean 343i is following Reach’s footsteps. They may very well have perfected or near-perfected the tools and made it something that can fit within the “Halo” feel. We will just have to wait and /see/.

Just because they’re using similar ideas as the CoD series doesn’t mean it’s taking the “CoD route”, either. Remember- CoD has borrowed a /lot/ from other games and tweaked them into something that truly attracted a larger crowd. Halo has been its own for the longest time, and even now it will continue to revolutionize FPS gameplay by modifying and improving upon newer FPS mechanics and features seen in other games and making them fit within Halo properly. CoD is not an original in many ways- Halo is.

I love Halo as a series. I will agree that Reach was probably the ‘awkward cousin’ of the Halo series, and that I wasn’t too comfortable with everything I had heard pre-release and seen. Yet I’ve come to accept Halo 4 might be better, more efficient. I’m still waiting before judging, but my confidence in the game has returned. Has yours?