The Hammer, is hammering too well

I’m reasonably through the beta, probably 10-12 hrs of play so far, not exhaustive, but enough for some first impressions. I’ve been playing halo multiplayer since 2003 in every iteration. My most resounding impression so far is the Hammer is far too strong in it’s range, and outclasses every other close in weapon. It’s non-lunge AOE i think is the biggest imbalance.

As a secondary matter, there are a few weapons that are simply too weak to be competitive at all. the new pulse carbine is extraordinarily poor, even if combined w/ a weapon swap to headshot after shield-pop it’s TTK is uncompetitive.

The Ravager is similarly poor, only really effective in charge mode, which is on average less than 3 full charges per weapon.

I would also submit that if the Commando is so difficult to control, the payoff should be a little better. It needs to be a bit stronger, by only 1 or 2 shots. Shouldn’t be the majority of your mag if you’re hitting your rounds. 3 kills per full ammo load seems poor.

I love this game, feels like halo 3 to me, and less acrobatic than before, which is a good thing. Just my impressions. Great work 343, cant wait to play this game for a long time!

Ehre

2 Likes

The sad thing is that these are all things that 343 “fixed” from previous technical preview weekends.

1 Like

Wait, the gravity hammer is good now? What on earth did I miss?

Hammer range is not too bad since it makes up for having no gravity anymore, but I personally would prefer the Reach hammer back, including the side swing quick melee

1 Like

I am really bad with the hammer. I have about 14 hours, half of that being fiesta and maybe have like 5 kills with the hammer? Half the time for me it doesn’t ground pound, it just makes a little dink noise and does no damage. I usually have to land direct hits to get a kill.

Now the sword on the other hand, give me that and a grapple and I am unstoppable.