The Fortnite Formula and why it kills a game and community like halo

To start off I’m not an expert. I’m a gamer. Like the majority of veterans out there its been a bit …disappointing to put it in nice terms about the formula that 343 decided to go with when it comes to infinite. What made the franchise so much fun and rewarding was what we the players earned through our time in game. Finding skulls for the hyabusa armor was one of my fondest memories with my friends. Trying to complete the scout armor by running someone down with a mongoose, grinding to brigadier in reach to get an all time favorite set, the in game mile stones in halo 4 to unlock badass assassination’s. Those mechanics is what kept halo to a higher standard and what made it so addictive to play. It is what made us as players to get better with the game mechanics and become a force to be reckoned with in multiplayer and made our friends envious of how cool we looked in custom games. When req packs were introduced I felt like we lost something important. Though the concept of weapon skins and attachments was a promising one it ended up just felling like the focus shifted away from what it once was and became a de valued cash grab. Flash forward to now where we have a free to play halo multiplayer which I thought originally was going to be an amazing idea to bring the community together day one without anyone having to wait and miss out.