The biggest noticeable disappointment of H5

For all the talk of new gameplay mechanics, far and away the biggest disappointment of Halo 5 thus far is the art direction. More specifically, the HDR+++++++ style of lighting that 343 is employing ad nauseum.

I’m not going to say “graphics” because the fidelity and quality of the overall look of the game may very well be excellent. But the art direction - the part that we can already see in full form - is atrocious. I’m not an artist and I can’t explain this in technical detail, but why does it look like everything has insane light sources? Why is everything either a blindingly bright light or a deeply dark shadow? Why is there no proper shading or middle ground in any of the lighting? Why does this look like some high school kid’s photoshop project where he maxes out HDR to the max and calls it a graphical triumph? Why are light sources never consistent and what is preventing them from blending together in the slightest? Why can’t you actually see anything?

This trend started in Reach and continued in Halo 4 - and it’s been turned up to 11 for Halo 5. I’m not even going to get into the realism debate - game graphics and art often aren’t realistic, nor should they always be - but it just looks BAD. Halo 3 hit it perfectly for me - the graphics are obviously dated by today’s standards, yes, but the art direction hit a perfect balance between realism/believeability and the kind-of-cartoony world that Halo has always occupied. This? This looks like someone fiddled around with their dad’s photo-editing software and cranked contrast knobs until they broke.

I’m curious to see what people think. After all, opinions on gameplay mechanics are largely subjective and much of the debate about them is just that - debate. I suppose opinion on art direction is also subjective to a point… but come on, does anyone really actually like the INCREDIBLY “busy” and HDR to the max-max-max style of art that the new game is pushing?