Skilled based blah blah blah

So if this runs on skill based matchmaking then I do I get paired with absolute trash teammates? This game every time I boot it up to maybe enjoy it it’s just a complete disappointment.

It’s trying to get you to win around 50% of the time, or forcing an equitable outcome. It if was truly skills-based and fair, it would set up like players to battle one another instead of pairing up teams that have a 50/50 chance to win.

This means if you’re good, you get weighed down by trash, if you’re trash you’re constantly paired up with people who outclass you.

I had my wife play my account for a while and she kept getting paired up with better and better people while she proportionately weighed the team down.

Likewise, when I started playing my account again, I was paired up with teammates and enemies that were severely wasted by me (and I suck compared to normal standards).

Real fairness has to do with combatants and teammates of similar skills competing, not a programmer attempting to get a desired “outcome”. The premise that truskill 2.0 is based on is fundamentally flawed.

7 Likes

They have a forced 50/50 win/loss metric setup on social.

So it matches your skill with garbage players to even out the games.

2 Likes

As long as you give the AI full control of picking your teammates for you there will always be a big chance that you’ll get bad teammates. Because there is only so much an AI can do when it comes to picking players to pair up with one another.

The only good solution is to start picking your own teammates yourself.

1 Like

That’s just what happens.

Sometimes you get good team-mates. Sometimes bad.

Sometimes you get to play a team that gels. Sometimes you play a team who just can’t get it together.

Sometimes you are the good team mate. Sometimes you are the bad one.

In most cases, if you troll through your game history, you’ll find it pretty much evens out.