Remove Synapse from Arena/Team Slayer (or fix it!)

In my opinion, Synapse is a decently laid-out map, but the framerate lag on anything but an optimal connection makes it unplayable at times. Unless you are playing with 7 players that live within 15 miles of you, the lag and framerate drops are unbearable. I lost my last Arena game today because the other team was lag-twitching around and eating my headshots.

I’m no Forge expert, but maybe there are too many phased objects or objects that chew up too much framerate. Maybe removing some objects could improve the framerate, much like how Sanctuary runs smoother than Asylum does.

Any opinions on this?

I think you are confusing frame rate lag with network latency. Synapse has always had good frame rate performance for me, even with a split screen. Certainly not to the point where players appear to skip around. You have to really overload a map to get that much of a frame rate drop. I think you just had the unfortunate coincidence of getting a bad host on the map.

Wayont and Tempest are the only MM maps I get significant frame rate drops on, and it’s only in certain sniping situations on Tempest.

> I think you are confusing frame rate lag with network latency. Synapse has always had good frame rate performance for me, even with a split screen. Certainly not to the point where players appear to skip around. You have to really overload a map to get that much of a frame rate drop. I think you just had the unfortunate coincidence of getting a bad host on the map.
>
> Wayont and Tempest are the only MM maps I get significant frame rate drops on, and it’s only in certain sniping situations on Tempest.

I’ve had a couple games where this has happened. Maybe I gave bad examples, but the framerate shudders I’m trying to explain happen when you scope-in near bases or cross-map out of your base on non-green bar connections. I guess it can be a product of playing on 75% Forge World maps in MM now.