Question on how many shots until you die

Greetings.

Im new to Halo, i played Halo 4 last year, single player only, and yesterday i installed MCC to try the multiplayer. Im more of a CoD player, but im thinking on skipping it this year and getting Halo 5 instead.

However one thing i thought, playing the Halo 4 mp in MCC, is that you have to unload the clip before an opponent dies (not to mention the whole dancing in order to try to dodge bullets). Ill be playing for the week in order to try to get used to it, but really i thought this is a MAJOR downside for the game and perhaps one of the main reasons CoD is the bestseller fps.

So my question basically is: do you still need to hit so many shots before you kill? Does the game have at least a mode without the shields? How is this thing in Halo 5?

This is actually one of Halo’s main distinctions from modern shooters, and thus, no, it ain’t going nowhere, pal. However, in H5, kill times are actually a bit faster than usual, still nowhere near CoD levels, but the SMG certainly clears house a lot better than ever before.
If you want to play with no/reduced shields, try SWAT or Breakout.

Halo online MP will always have SWAT, shieldless slaying! It is always one of the most consistently populated playlists.
As for a much quicker pace of killing in shielded gametypes, the best times to kill have changed by a degree of feeling but not enough to consciously think about it from H4. The average killing times of weapons have been lowered due to reliability over range being much better than ever before to a point where it’s game specific on the feeling of change.

If you go from CE to H5, you won’t notice much of a difference in pace of killing. If you go from CE to H3, you will notice a HUGE difference in pace of killing.

OK thanks for the input.