Purpose of the Halo Array

I’m sorry if this question has been asked before, but I am kinda new to the Waypoint Forums, and this question has bugged me for a while.

I know the general purpose for firing the Halo rings is to clense the galaxy/universe of any Flood Infection. Now here is the question. When Chief in Halo 1 was about to activate Installation 04, Cortana and 343 GS stopped him and told him of Halo’s true purpose, to wipe out all species with enough biomass to support flood infection. But I’m currently reading The Thursday War, and when Jul is talking to Prone to Drift and the purpose of the Dyson Sphere, Jul says “Their [the Forerunner’s] entire civilization. The Halo would have destroyed everything sentient outside [the Dyson Sphere] when it was activated.”

So what does Halo actually kill? I’ve read somewhere (though I don’t know if it is true) that Grunts are not able to become infected, but they certinally are sentient. Though I have seen trees in Campaign and MP maps that are infested with flood-like spores, and trees (barring any cross-universe Ents from TLotR) are not sentient.

Would like some insight from the Halo community to help me solve this connundrum.

Halo kills anything sentient as well as Flood biomass.

The Halo array uses Nuero-technology. Anything with a nervous system would have died…exactly as planned.

(Fun fact, the Precursor structures used Neuro-technology, so that’s why we don’t see anything Precursor in the Halo trilogy)

> I’m sorry if this question has been asked before, but I am kinda new to the Waypoint Forums, and this question has bugged me for a while.
>