Purchased 4 Items, Downloaded on harddrive

Ok, if you understand what I am asking. (let me first say I am new to xbox live, been online for about 8 days). Just got my gold membership. When you playing matchmaking for halo reach online, a box pops up and says you need prerequested items or recommended. Items such as blue helmet, orange helmet, halo reach game, about 106 items. So, I purchased 4 items.

You have to have credit to purchase these. So, I bought 1600 credits to get these items to help play the game. (I used to have Hero rank but that was offline and you cant add a rank to a rank online). At least thats what I was told by xbox and some ambassadors on xbox.

I am a old guy, 59 but love to play these type of games, got hooked on Halo. So, how do I activate these downloads I got so I can use them in the game halo reach.

My nephew runs circles around me in the game, but I was kicking his little rear end when I had all the armor. Now, other guys are kicking my rear end online in matchmaking, because I dont have armor like I used to. Someone suggested that you can custom challenges and play a day for like 200,000 points. If so, how do you do that too?

I can use all the help I can get. Hope this was ok to post, just trying to get some help so I can play the game better. And wont die as many times like I have. I have gotten to warrant officer, but thats still along way from Hero where I was, sigh.

Want to get better at this game, and know how to play online, matchmaking, and more, especially when Halo 4 comes out. So, appreciate it if anyone can give me some tips, advice and suggestions.
thanks in advance. joe

These four items you bought, were they Avatar items for your Xbox 360 Avatar to wear?

I’m really stumped here.