Pulse Grenades: Finally Useful!

Right, then. This thread is going to be tailor-made to help you guys get your Pulse Grenade commendation in as little time possible. This is my first time making a guide, so please bear with me.

First and foremost, the Pulse Grenade itself:
The PG is a Promethian grenade that, when thrown, it sticks to the first non-living, non-vehicle surface it touches and releases an orb of orange light that drains shields for a few seconds, and then implodes, thus incinerating any life form within its blast radius that has low enough health. A lot of community members predicted that this would be a beefier replacement for the power drain tool from Halo 3, and many were disappointed to find it difficult to score a kill with this woefully underpowered piece of ordinance and merely resorted to using it as a last-ditch effort after accidentally picking it up off a random ordinance drop.

The PG has some basic tactical uses, such as blocking off a narrow corridor or making an objective less appealing to a would-be flag/ball/base snatcher, but it is hindered by many, many inadequacies.

1. The shield drain doesn’t do enough damage and is too small. Plain and simple. In the time it takes for an enemy’s shield to be stripped, the enemy themselves would have side-stepped, run through, or completely avoided the PG all together.
  2. The implosion requires the enemy’s health to be too low to score a kill. I’ve witnessed enemies who are half-shield survive the pulse grenade’s implosion and continue the fight.
  3. With the current loadout system, you are allowed ONE PG at spawn. Just. One. I can understand why this could make objective gametypes unbalanced due to teams effectively creating walls of PG madness, but the room for abuse is much, much lower in Slayer-based gametypes. Besides, with the inability to recover grenades from downed foes, the ability to spam is minimized without the Resupply perk.