Psychology behind Sprint

Here are some psychological effects that might tie into the whole Sprint-debate – as a psychologist I hope you find you find it interesting:

Perception of speed
Irrespective of the question whether or not you’re actually getting somewhere faster (or if that is just an illusion) what’s important is the player’s perception of speed.
That perception is created through:

• contrast between base speed and sprint speed
  • visual cues: shaking screen, rapid arm movements, flow of air (white stripes)
  • auditory cues: higher frequency of footsteps, rushing wind
  • kinesthetic cues: controller vibrations

Conditioning (Pavlov, Kornorski)
A previously neutral motoric action (pressing the left stick) becomes inherently rewarding by repeatedly linking it with (subjectively perceived) desired outcomes.
E.g. the player spawns and wants to get to the power weapon or back to his team as quick as possible. Pressing the left stick becomes rewarding (subjective perception of accelerating the progress) over time.

Motor (re-)learning (muscle memory)
I’ve gone into great detail why Sprint (and ADS) has become part of an (almost) ‘universal control scheme’ – i.e. that sprinting is in so many console shooters that pressing the left stick is highly associated with this mechanism (‘automatism’).
The problem is not that people can’t adjust to different settings; the problem is that it creates rough transitions especially for people that play a lot of others games/shooters.

Loss of reward = punishment
The loss of a reward (reinforcer) is always frustrating (punishment), even if the reward hasn’t yet materialized and is only expected.
If a player expects to get a certain kill because of his previous experiences (thus he expects to get this kill too), the loss of the reward (or the mental anticipation thereof) is highly frustrating.

Attribution theory (Weiner)