Played halo 2 online the other day and let me tell you

Ok i played halo 2 online the other day, well not on xbox live but through XBConnect, and i just wanted to explain something. Btw, i’m making this thread in the halo 4 section because it pertains to a lot of the topics here.

First of all, the experience was amazing. As soon as i started playing, nostalgia took over and i got very happy…i played for like 4 hours. Played team slayer, capture the flag, zombies, SWAT etc. Basically i almost lived those 2004 days where all i did was play halo.

The thing is that i see a lot of threads here asking for halo to be trimmed down back to how simple yet amazing it was in the halo 2 era. Now after playing for so long i realized something, which was that i was only running on nostalgia and i just couldn’t get the same feeling i used to be able to get while playing. That was largely due to the environment back then, playing with friends, having nothing to worry about, plus the lack of anyyy other competitive online games.

I know that’s something we already know, but what i figured was that no matter how simple or how close to halo 2 they make halo 4, it just can’t be the same. When i played it a few days ago, i loved every moment of it, but i kinda had to shift myself back in time and ignore the problems that were visible. I just can’t see myself playing something like that now because we’re soo used to the changes that have happened in online gaming.

Basically what i’m trying to say is that innovation is very important, in theory yes they could make halo 4 how halo was back in the day but it’s not going to work practically. The cool thing is that no matter how many new things we have, they can always make CLASSIC playlists for people that wanna play that way. So we really shouldn’t be afraid of changes unless they’re totally gamebreaking like ‘iron sights’.

Your logic is very logical

I approve of this thread.