People That Respect the GA in Ranked

You’re cool, I respect anyone that plays the right way.

It’s always annoying when you see that sword spawn icon vanish, and you just know you’re going to have to play cheap to win against cheap tactics.

The game is so much more fun when people don’t do stuff like that, it’s a reason to shake hands after no matter the outcome.

4 Likes

343 just needs to fix their game. This is Halo, I should be able to use the sword without being shamed by the ultra-competitive.

15 Likes

Is this a joke or am I misinterpreting? You consider using the sword a “cheap tactic”? And you have a “cheap tactic” that will nullify it? Then what are you even complaining about? That’s a net zero equation.

Why even complain about the sword in the first place? It’s how you’re supposed to play the game, it’s Halo.

14 Likes

I don’t think you can expect everyone in ranked to know what has been GA’d by pros or not.

I’m not a pro so have never been part of a GA either.

6 Likes

The sword in Infinite is overpowered and shouldn’t be in ranked. In the last 3 or so Halos it has had the ability to trade kills with enough damage and a melee, or to be blocked and parried by well timed melees and certain weapons.

In Infinite it has melee priority, so you just swing through and kill them with the sword no matter what. You add in all the mobility enhancements and it becomes overwhelming and impossible to deal with outside of a Repulsor and a lot of luck.

Add to that the fact it spawns every minute and a half in doubles, so it just shows up constantly throughout the match. If people are picking it up every time it winds up being the primary way people are getting kills. In Open it has a slower timer but it’s not a tier 2 weapon so there can still be multiple in play.

When the goal is fair competition and balance, it’s a big issue.

At high levels people tend to respect the GA. The problem comes from low and mid tier ranks where people use things as a crutch more.