Noob tips (tips for noobs)

Hey I am a noob and looking for tips to get better. Is it just playing or are there any tricks to it.

Mostly just comes down to putting the playtime in because you should improve as you keep getting used to the game, but there are other things you can do as well.

• Mess around with the control schemes, and see if you prefer the way they feel compared the the default scheme, and if you still prefer the default, that is fine too, considering it’s just a matter of preference. - Learn the map locations, weapon pad/powerup placements, and explore different routes you can take on maps. There are probably a good amount of YouTube videos that can help you out with learning the different ways to navigate certain maps by using certain jumps and routes. - Become more accustomed to using your Magnum. As you start to climb the skill bracket, you face tougher opponents, and precision weapons become the norm of the game. The Assault Rifle is still nifty for close range engagements, but 9 times out of 10, you’ll be squaring up against someone using the Magnum, so work on your strafing, and your shots.

Don’t be afraid to mess with your look and aim acceleration settings to find a good feel. And as said above, just practice practice practice. Halo and especially H5 has a pretty high learning curve and takes quite awhile to get used too.

Noob combo plasma pistol and any precision weapon

Something I have learned through experience is KNOW WHEN TO MELEE. there is a right time, and a very wrong time to melee in any encounter, regardless of whether the punch lands.

First of all, never boost into a melee. It operates very differently from a spartan charge. Boosting prevents you from shooting or performing any action for a split second. If you boost into a melee, the opponent will have the first opportunity to strike.