My quick play is harder than Ranked/

I don’t want to whine too much but this is an issue. When I play team slayer or quick play, I’m matched with players who are esports champs and are all on the same team. While my teammates just got an Xbox. I also get way worse latency in quick play then in ranked. Ranked is easier than casual play and I’m in Diamond, like bro this is so not fun.

12 Likes

Lucky you, I started playing ranked for the first time after never playing it & my first 3 “placement” games were entirely filled with Onyx players.

Matchmaking just seems kinda inconsistent tbh. There needs to be better settings across the board to control search preferences.

2 Likes

Because quick play uses matchmaking. Social in old halo’s had some matchmaking, but the skill range was kind of all over the place because…well…it was a social playlist lol.

Obviously you need matchmaking for ranked modes, but I wish games with quick play/social playlists would go back to being, ya know, social. I miss the old school lobbies that Halo had. You’d get a game, you can vote for the next map, and players can stay in that lobby all night long. Not only does infinite have no lobby, but post game crap and searching for a new match seriously takes longer than it does to play a single match it feels like.

4 Likes

Ye man social is supposed to be fun. When I want to try and compete I do Ranked. But rn Social is just toxic rn.

4 Likes

Welcome to modern gaming, where apparently we need overly strict skill based matchmaking in all playlists at all times no matter what.

3 Likes

Not really sure what can be done about this. Have 343i go up to these people and be like…
“Hey, hey you, yeah you… You’re playing too seriously… Can you tone it down so others can enjoy the game? or play ranked at least?”