My praise, criticism, and opinion of Halo 5

I’ve been playing Halo ever since it came to the original Xbox consol, and have played all the original titles (that excludes remakes) from start-finish. When it comes to Halo 5, it’s my personal opinion that it’s gameplay is great, the visuals are great, and the story looks like it will lead to great things in the future.

However, there are a few key issues with it that make me ask “Why would you take that out?”

My main issue with Halo 5 is the unlockable armor/assasinations/weapon skins, and basic aesthetics. I do actually enjoy the REQ system, and I find it to be a necessary new concept to an old franchise. My issue with it, though, is that that is the ONLY way to unlock things (to my knowledge). It doesn’t matter anymore how good a player is, because a total noob has the same chance at getting the best looking gear there both by simply playing, or by outright purchasing the content.

There isn’t any incentive to being the best, or to achieve specific feats, or to beat the game on legendary. You receive either only acheivement points, or nothing at all. There’s no way to distinguish a skilled player with a total noob, and it takes away from the drive of continual gameplay because of it.

There simply needs to be some middle-ground somewhere that can incorporate skill, rather than how deep your pockets are, or how lucky a person is.

There are a few other minor things, that are a bit bothersome, things like removing the co-op scoring system (which I cannot imagine would be difficult to program or implement at all), seeing the characters of the other members in a pre-game lobby, and other basic things I’m sure many others have brought to light.