My personal feedback on Halo Infinite (Warning: lots of text)

INTRODUCTIONS

Hello, my name is Tom, I’m 24, and I work in the game development industry. I’ve been playing Halo since I was like 8, and I’m very passionate about the franchise. I’m writing this post today because I care about Halo Infinite, and I want to see it do better.

I want to start off mentioning that I love the gameplay. Aside form the occasional networking shenanigans, playing the game feels awesome. The movement is smooth and intuitive, the weapons are fun to use and satisfying to get kills with, the equipment adds a wonderful gameplay layer on top of it all, and the vehicles are a joy to pilot, it’s great. I especially enjoy the new/remixed weapons, such as the Commando, and the Mangler. I’d also like to give a shoutout to the Ravager, which since the latest buff has actually become very fun to use. When it all works, the run and gun experience Halo Infinite provides easily beats out all of the AAA-shooter competition for me.

Cool, that being said, I have feedback on a range of topics, and I’ll do my best to structure it all in such a way that it all reads coherently, so it doesn’t read like the ramblings of a mad fanatic. I think I will start with the system I believe causes the most frustration amongst players no matter what they’re playing.

THE CHALLENGE SYSTEM

The challenge system to me reads like it was not thought out with the intention of improving the gameplay experience. Harsh words, but I stand by them, I think this system actively bars people from enjoying the game as much as they could be.

I NEED A VERY SPECIFIC WEAPON