Mouse and Keyboard feels awful to use

I know this is a minority opinion. I love Halo, so please, especially if you don’t use this input, hear me out, I want this game to be amazing. I don’t want to play anything else other than Halo, but currently it’s almost unplayable.

Look I’m not that tech savvy, so I can’t explain in detail what seems to be wrong. However, I’ve played Halo for a long time even at a almost pro level in Halo 3 competing in lan tourneys and such. I’ve switched to PC gaming with mouse and keyboard as my obvious input.

The “feel” of moving and aiming using mouse and keyboard feels atrociously bad. I’m comparing how it “feels” to other recent titles like call of duty, battlefield and valorant. All of those games “feel” better to play using mouse and keyboard.

Aiming feels “floaty” as if I’m trying to push 2 repulsive magnets together. Movement feels clunky and unattached to the mouse. I’m a pretty decent no-lifer at fps, holding high ranks in multiple ranked games, and i feel like I’ve never played a fps game before here. I know Halos style with my past, I know how to play, but aiming feels almost impossible in it’s current state outside of long range.

Look, many players who historically play mouse and keyboard as their preferred input, on day 1 were using a controller instead. What should that tell us? I know the primary audience is console/controller players and I get that, but with the game being cross-platform, it doesn’t excuse for the sorry state of mouse and keyboard.

Like I said at the beginning, I love Halo, but the current mouse and keyboard feel is so far from good it’s depressing. I really hope some improvements can be made…

Thanks for reading <3

1 Like

Shameless bump, I do want to add that having played more, my opinion hasn’t changed. It still feels like somethings way off. There are also more issues popping up to include stuttering, input delay, massive hit reg issues. Ugh.

You’ve probably checked this already but…VSync?