Looking at Halo 5 With a New Perspective

Hello,
I used to play a fair bit of Halo 5… About 800-ish hours if I remember correctly… spartan rank 130 + rank 50 on a secondary account.
I’m not a complete noob is what im trying to say ok :smiley:
I haven’t playing Halo in over a year now… I bought a PC and I have mostly invested my time into CSGO… which has a huge focus on rewarding the better playing.
If a player with 500 hours in CSGO plays against a player with 2000 hours, doesn’t matter how fast of a learner they are, they aren’t winning that fight simply due to a huge lack in game-sense and mechanical ability. With Halo Esports being hyped up again recently I started watching some gameplay of it again and actually found myself missing aspects of it. It got me thinking a bit about Halo 5 and what it could have done better to be more competitive and simply more fun.

The first thing is maps… of which Halo 5 has a good amount. Halo 5 didn’t need more maps, it just needed better, more iconic maps. If you look at CSGO, it has without a doubt the some of the most iconic maps in FPS history… maps that have been tweaked over decades to make them the best they can be. The CS maps are packed full of interesting cover opportunities… no object is without a purpose… every box can effectively be used to play around. This is something the Halo 5 maps don’t do well… They are too empty with too little opportunity for strats like flag fakes, which given the correct map design would change the way CTF is played. Strongholds have boring… strongholds… the capture points often have no cover leaving only very few angles to hide in. I feel like it would add depth to the game-mode and make the skill ceiling higher.