Is progression too easy in Halo 5:Guardians?

I have been a long serving veteran of the Halo series, and have always enjoyed the progression grind that comes with the Halo series. Whether that is completing all of the campaign missions on LASO (Legendary, all skulls on- solo), or just playing multiplayer and hitting the high ranks, forever grinding for that one armor piece that you have you eyes set upon. The grind for loot has always been tangible and -mostly- enjoyed by the veteran community.
Halo 5: Guardians has taken a new approach to progression with the introduction of REQ packs (no in-form Master Chiefs here, noobs), which can be purchased at varying prices using your hard earned REQ points (essentially FIFA points).They come in three flavours: Gold, Silver and Bronze -there are also ‘Premium’ Warzone packs, but that’s another article in itself. Opening packs can randomly give players a varying assortment of goodies, potentially netting the lucky few with ultra-rare or even cooler, legendary items to outfit their spartans with. I was lucky enough to bag myself the ultra-rare Venator helmet from a recent Gold tier pack, however that is precisely the problem. The whole system is based on luck, and not necessarily a player’s skill or devotion, as I bagged this when I was only level 26.