Invasion: Epitomising Halo Reach.

What I mean by that is, it was touted as such a hugely great thing pre-release, and the Beta only fuelled it’s hype. It was fresh and different, much like Reach’s general feel. It was grand and epic, a fitting swansong for the company that made Halo what it is. But it wasn’t it wasn’t. At all. Reach has slipped into relative obscurity. No-one talks about it. No-one wants to play it really. It’s fell down whilst Call of Duty released Black Ops - a rehash in every sense of the word, but I digress - and the CoD franchise went from strength to strength, broke record after record.

That’s not how it should be. I’ll admit, I only started playing Halo in 2008 at Halo 3, but have since played every Halo game.I love Halo. It almost pains me to see it struggling so much. And to an extent anyway, Invasion is exactly the same. Pre-release, hyped to the max and played rather well in the Beta - considering it was a Beta. But for a number of reasons, it’s just not lived up to it. It’s stale. Not playable for any significant length of time. Infuriating at times.

Obviously, now 343i have taken over, it’s really the long road back to relevancy for Halo Reach, and Invasion, in my opinion, could be the catalyst for a relative revival for Reach. The general premise of a Spartan v Elite, three-tiered, Attack v Defence objective gametype is mouth-watering. If I were in charge of 343i, I’d have Invasion seriously worked on. Have some “Invasion 1.5” thing or something. Something to show that they mean business.