I'm old and bad now, here are some thoughts. (Long Rant)

I know sometimes there’s a fine line between complaining and being concerned. What I have to say may be a little of both.

Anyone reading this will mostly likely be like, “Who the hell are you? And why should I care?”

Well, the answer is, I’m no one, and you probably shouldn’t care. I’m old (43) and Halo is the reason I bought the original Xbox (like a lot of people I’m sure). Being old is only relevant considering my reaction time is no where near what it used to be. Honestly, I’m not very good at Halo anymore.

I was never great at the games, but in the Halo 2/3 days, I could comfortably hold my own. Not so much anymore. A lot has happened in my life in the 20 years since the first Halo launched. And honestly, PVP gives me anxiety now. To be fair, that’s not the developer’s fault one bit, that rests solely on me. But it does make the game rough to play for me. Hell, don’t think I’ve played any PVP in any game in at least 5 years now, until Infinite anyway.

Why does any of that matter? Due to some days off around Thanksgiving, I was able to actually sit down and play multiple hours of Infinite. Thanks to a multitude of things like, getting carried, luck, and some challenge swaps, I was able to finish my weekly challenges this week, only to find out there’s a final challenge in order to unlock the weekly reward. One that I know I won’t be able to complete due to both my skill level and the lack of time I have to sit and play. That instantly took the wind out of my sails. Instant FOMO.

I’m sure I’ll get flamed for this, but I find the Bot battles far more enjoyable, and as an added bonus, zero anxiety. And while, YES, some challenges are able to be completed playing against bots, it’s impossible to get everything unless you engage in the actual PVP.