Im new. Which halo to start 1st?

im new to Halo, which halo should i play 1st

1 Like

Welcome to the franchise!

If you want to start from a story/lore perspective then Halo: Reach is where you need to start. If you want to just pick up and play a game then I would say start Halo 3 first.

It really depends on what you want out of the game. Just be aware that the game mechanics will be noticeably different with each title (with the exception of Halo 3: ODST; this is really noticeable when you make the jump from Halo: Reach to Halo: Combat Evolved).

1 Like

You could get the Master Chief Collection and play almost all of them. You can choose to play each game in chronological story order or start from the first Halo Combat Evolved through Halo 5.

2 Likes

I would suggest the original trilogy first. You’ll get to know all of what makes this series great and will most likely have a blast doing it. From there I’d suggest Halo 3: ODST or Halo Reach. After those, you can play through 4 and 5 or Halo Wars 1 & 2.

A few things to note, however-
All of these games are available on Xbox and PC, except for Halo 5. To my knowledge that is only on Xbox with no current plans for a PC version.

Halo Wars is an RTS, and IIRC the first one is very standalone to everything else. However, Halo Wars 2 jumps to the present point in the Halo story and introduces the enemies in the upcoming game.

Do with all this as you will, but I hope you have fun with however you go about your playthrough!

To appreciate the new ones you always have to start from the beginning :v:

I’d say play them all and in release order. If you don’t have that kind of time, play only the baseline CE thru 5. If you need a really quick run thru there might be a MCC playlist for that.

EDIT: As an aside for the veterans here: if you had to summarize the entire baseline series to the ten (more or less) most important missions, which would they be? I’m finding it difficult to do.