How troubled is halo infinite’s development?

Halo Infinite was recently delayed, with rumors of development troubles, but some of the rumors have either been debunked or are likely fake. So here I’m going to analyze what we know and the rumors to assess what state the game development is actually in. Keep in mind, I’m not an expert, so if I miss anything, you guys know more, or if you disagree, please discuss below.

What we know:

1. Until a few weeks ago, it was planned for a 2020 release.
  • This means it must be far enough along that they thought it was going to be ready until recently.
  1. It is in a playable state as seen in the demo.
  • The biggest part of development is getting the game playable.
  1. Textures, and lighting are still unfinished.
  • This is a very short part of game development.
  1. There seem to be a few bugs with grass and clouds ghosting.
  • Probably a fairly easy fix, but it is a little worrying that it is seen in the demo as it is supposed to be the most polished part of the game.
  1. Before delaying it, 343 considered releasing the multiplayer this fall, and the campaign at a later date.
  • This means the main issues are likely with the campaign.
  1. There are currently no plans to delay it further or drop the Xbox one version.
  • To be expected as it was just delayed to 2021, and it has been developed for Xbox one and series x for years.
  1. Joseph Staten is now the campaign project lead.
  • Could mean there is more development than previously thought, but he could just be in charge or putting the last pieces together, or possibly for future add ons. This is the most worrying news concerning development.

Rumors:

1. Delayed to 2022 with Xbox one version dropped.
  • Debunked
  1. Various rumors about the game in development hell, bad working conditions, etc…