Halo Wars Build Order Program

Couple of weeks ago I decided to switch from Anders to Cutter. However I was confused by many options for build orders offered by Cutter and his elephant unit. Since I am a programmer and I love numbers, I decided to create a program for that.

It took about 40 hours to create the program one can find from the end of this post. The early version had same functionality but then I decided to completely rewrite the code… so it took longer than I expected.

The best thing about the program is the game engine. It is not visible for user, but it follows quite nicely the mechanics used in real Halo Wars game. That makes it possible for future improvements.

The goal is to do a program that can tell answers instead of purely representing data. For example one could “ask” from it “Which is the fastest way to get 5 canister shell scorpions on Blood Gulch” or “Which is the fastest way to get wingmen hornets while getting 6 x hog and 900 supplies per minute production”.

Currently there is a bunch of minor issues with the software. Major issue is bad UI. Currently there is so many items in action menu, that it is hard to find the most used ones. The second issue is that there is no “tech-tree” yet. One can research f.e. hawk super unit before wingmen.

However, it has been fun to develop the program and play with it. Also it has been good practice for me to explorer new features of C#/.NET, Silverlight and Reactive Extensions.

The program works on any browser which has Microsoft Silverlight plugin installed.

https://sites.google.com/site/halowarsportal/

P.S. Sorry for that frame Google Sites forces to put in Silverlight applications.

Wow, I really like the idea behind this. What I’d like to see in the UI is a separation of unit upgrades and base upgrades. Also, adjust the list to cater more to the most commonly used/upgraded items, this will minimize a lot of the relentless scrolling around.