Halo Infinite Impressions: Bittersweet

My history: I’ve been playing since 2001 (Halo: Combat Evolved) but I didn’t get into its MP until Halo 3 (2007) and been playing off and on ever since. When I first saw Halo Infinite I was sorta cautiously optimistic but after actually playing it for myself I’ve found it to be drastically superior to what I expected. I’m going to go over a few really interesting/important aspects to Infinite and why I feel its great and then I’ll tear the game apart for not having everything we want at launch.

Weapons: The bread, the butter, the thing that makes or breaks basically every shooter ever made. Weapon design in Infinite is probably the best its ever been. Whether it be the Dynamo Grenades (10/10 give that dude/dudett a raise) the Commando (interesting long range auto weapon) or the Skewer (Snipe but without hitscan and great against vehicles) I was nothing but impressed by the new weapons they added this time around. Old weapons still feel awesome and although I’ve ran into some minor balancing issues (AR is basically a pickup weapon in terms of power these days lol) I just feel that this is Infinite’s strongsuit. To add to this point one of the things that Infinite does differently from other Halo’s is that they have weapon cycles. So in one cycle you’ll have BR’s spawn in a certain location, whereas the next time you might have Commando’s, it may not be genre defining or anything but I feel this is an often overlooked aspect of Infinite.