Halo: A Surgeon's Perspective

Briefly on me, I am a veteran halo player since halo CE, and currently a young surgeon. I have been using halo as stress relief for the last 10+ years of training, and continue to love it to this day. I have frequented the forums countless times over the last 10+ years and never felt a need to post anything, but times are changing. I have played the halo 5 beta…and…well….

Let’s reflect quickly on something: halo 3 many will argue was the last “pure” halo title. Arena gameplay, no sprint, equal starts, power weapon control, minimal auto-aim, and a large skill gap. Halo 2, of course, was similar. I lived and breathed halo 3, to this day I feel it is the greatest game ever made…with regard to fun-factor at least. I complete understand the many complaints people have had beginning with Halo:Reach. Halo:Reach in my opinion, was an atrocity. When I played that beta, all I could think about was, wow this game is garbage…but it’s a beta I’m sure it will get better. Of course, it did not. However, Halo:Reach was not a bad game…in fact it was a great game. It was just so blatantly different than its predecessor that it caused me agonizing pain. I know a lot of you continue to have these feelings today for Reach, Halo 4, and now Halo 5. I completely understand this.