Halo 4 explained by a experienced developer *A Must Read*

Okay, Some of you know me some of you don’t, I am a experienced game developer with knowledge and hands on experience in game production, The sole purpose of this post is to help educate people on these forums so they stop posting threads where they have no idea what they are talking about.

About me…
In short I am a environment artist and make games. In long I am an experienced programmer and artist and have experience producing games using and producing game engines, I have experience with Unreal, Unity, Source and the CryEngine 3.

Got a question ask me?
On a new post here I have started taking any question you have like will there be a beta and will Halo 4 look like Halo: Reach check it out.
http://halo.xbox.com/forums/general/f/14/p/15075/119684.aspx#119684

The typical under educated post…
Okay so the main reason I posted this is because of a thread titled “Do you think Halo 4 will have a new engine?”, To start off my post I am going to explain why this is a really poor question.

Game engine’s 101, So a game engine what is it and what does it do? Well its a software package made up of several core parts, The core functionality of modern game engines is to produce a 3D environment and that’s the level you play oh and create a user control system that lets you interact with it.

As the game engine is made up of parts the components can be removed, replaced or upgraded with ease. Saving money, time and resources.