H4 Technical & Gameplay Comments from a MLG and Developer

Introduction
Looking at the forums I would like to drop my observations and opinions and hopefully educate and raise awareness.

About Me
I have been working with games and advanced programming for over five years now, for years now I have been working with a great set of programmers on technology far more advanced than anything that can be run on the 360 or for that matter most high end gaming computers today.

I have both worked on and with most commercial quality game engines such as Unreal 3, CryEngine 3. I have seen first hand the tools behind today’s Halo games many thanks to friends at Microsoft.

Key
Observations Strictly Professional = Dark Red
Personal Thoughts = Dark Blue

The Technology Itself
Starting off with the obviousness graphical enhancements, I have observed a slight enhancement on the engines lighting on wrap round you can clearly see light beams created by directional light sources.

However that said all lighting seems pre-baked rather than realtime so with that in mind there is no chance of dynamic shadowing. Which I can remember was highly requested.

On a frame-rate note it’s confirmed to be 30 frames per second which is actually for the best as resource management behind the Halo engine has not really ever been greatly upgraded. 60 frames per second also adds a massive amount of extra heat to the old model ANA Scalar chip causing hardware malfunctions however Microsoft have never commented on the problem.

I personally have experienced ANA hardware faults on my Xbox Development Kit whilst playing a 60 fps game.

As a developer on a technical standpoint I am surprised that there has not been a engine re-build, Yet as a Halo player I am happy with the decision not to even do a small rebuild as it means all code in the game has been thoroughly tested from previous releases, yet I am concerned other’s won’t see it that way.

The Rest of the technical improvements