FEEDBACK FROM A HALO VETERAN: AIMING

Let me preface this by saying Halo Infinite is fun. It is the Halo game that I want to play instead of the previous games on MCC. This does not mean that Halo Infinite is the best Halo, but it does have potential to be one of the best.

A little about me: I’ve played Halo since the CE days, played Xbox Live since Halo 2. Attended numerous local tournaments throughout Halo 2 and Halo 3.

I continued playing through Reach, Halo 4 and Halo 5 but these last few I never really enjoyed. So I’ve been waiting more than ten years for a true Halo experience, and I can say with confidence that Halo Infinite feels like it can be just what I’m looking for.

So, without any further ado, let’s talk about the game.

I will start with the issue that has me truly worried about this game, the issue that could make me not want to play it or buy it, a dealbreaker. And that is: the aiming. As I mentioned, I’m a Halo veteran, and I’m a controller guy, I will not switch to mnk, that’s not my thing. And honestly, the aiming feels terrible. It feels even worse than Halo 5 at launch. I understand that games should not be easy to play, specially since 343 wants to promote a competitive scene and cross play. I get that. But I think it’s a mistake if they don’t also cater to controller players.

And the best way for me to explain it is this: I feel like I’m fighting my controller stick instead of my opponents. Which ends in total frustration. I want the game to be challenging but fun. Aiming has to be something that I will not notice, something that allows me to compete and get rewarded. And this is ultimately what’s wrong with the aiming in Halo Infinite, there’s way too much effort needed and very small reward. I’m not lying when I say my right thumb hurts after playing.

Things I’ve been able to detect about the aiming: