Day 1 Initial Thoughts

I’ve got about 4.5 hours under my belt now and a pretty solid feel for the major mechanics of the game at this point so I figured I share my first impressions. For context I’ve been playing Halo avidly since 2009, Halo 3 being my first game and Halo Reach being my favorite, and I play Infinite on PC, now lets get started…

The Good:

1. The game runs very smoothly and looks amazing, 343 really did a good job here and it’s worth mentioning especially this being their first PC game.
  2. The gunplay and fighting mechanics are good, they maintain a lot of what Halo always has been while adding a fresh feel. I have nothing to complain about here other than my skills with a mouse and keyboard not being up to par with my old controller days (for now…)
  3. The weapon balance seems to be ok for now, this one of those things that takes time to properly critique though. I can’t say the same for vehicles which I go over later.

The OK:

1)Matchmaking speeds aren’t slow, they aren’t necessarily lightning quick either but I think that this could improve over time, for now this will sit in the Ok area.I was definitely expecting it to be a weak point at least at launch.

The Bad:
1)Collision needs to be added, and friendly fire as well at least for some gamemodes (ranked especially). Both of these aspects are core to Halo gameplay and missing, I can play COD if I want to shoot through my teammates and chuck grenades in a room with them and enemies.
2) The ranking system. Oh boy. This is by far the game’s weakest point currently, and I made an entire separate forum post with my critiques and a potential solution which I can’t link but you can find if you view my other posts (I think)