Clay Master Chief

I made this clay Master Chief! The armor is the Infinite version. It’s made from oven baked Sculpey clay. I made his right hand clenched like it is around the chip in the trailer. You can tell I’m very excited for Infinite! :smiley:

Clay Master Chief

Nice work op thanks for sharing. Sculpey can be very difficult to work with due to how much you have to work it. How long do you work on this piece before tossing him in the oven?

Thank you! And I’d love Sculpey tips. I just started to work with clay so I’d love any suggestions :smiley: this probably took me a few hours, maybe about 6 or possibly more, but it was spread over about a week of coming back to it in the evenings

Well I started around that size for my first piece as well (it was 2 foxes and my wife used it for a wedding cake topper). As I have continued to work with it over the last few years I have found that smaller is the best way to start. I kept a block or 2 in my desk (I’m a teacher) and would make eraser sized things on my break from time to time. I also let my students use it… But I have digressed. Starting small is great because you have much less sculpey to work soft and it forces you to work on your fine detail skills. I made another bigger piece last year and and was super pleased with it due to the level of detail and due to the fact that I used more real world reference (it was an octopus and I watched clips of movement and used photos for inspiration). I mean the key is practice and detail but I would also say that finding movement in an object is important for example check out the implied movement in this new master Chief toy that I totally need in my life. Too much money but I need it.

Edit: have you baked that piece yet or no? I’m assuming you have as you already painted it but just curious.

> 2533274862926994;4:
> Edit: have you baked that piece yet or no? I’m assuming you have as you already painted it but just curious.