Cannot Resume Co-op campaign

Upon resuming a Co-op campaign, added the same individual that former progress was achieved, the game returns an error

“the amount of co-op players changed since game settings were selected”

Both players are on an internal LAN with external network and internet access via XBL.

Same thing here. I feel like I’ve been through it on x360 too, but I could be wrong.