AFK and Quitters - Game Design, Halo Reach (and 4), and You

So, this thread is getting pretty hot over at Bnet. Thought I’d bring it here for you all to see.
This was written by me (Taco033/FlamboyantBacon) about an hour ago.

Let me start with the following: this thread is not a “let’s bash Reach thread”. I’ve started enough of those and was smart enough to realize my voice, echoed by the likes of many others, will never be heard because the developers simply no longer care.

Thinly veiled hating aside, this thread focuses on two major aspects of Halo: AFKers and Quitters.

At this point, I’m sure we all understand what AFK is, but if you don’t know, that stands for Away from Keyboard. Naturally, consoles are controlled by well…controllers. AFC is the same thing.

Before I go any further, I want to say that I am an indie game developer and a “legit” computer programmer. Game design is not foreign to me. Bungie has been far longer in the business than myself, nonetheless, it’s worrisome to see the core FPS franchise for Xbox falling apart by their own hand.

So, let’s venture forth on the first of my two subjects and proposed solutions.

AFK

Naturally, the most ideal thing would be to simply have a server admin that could boot a AFK player. This is matchmaking, however, and that’s not a viable option.

To prevent a player from doing something, you need to understand why they do it in the first place.

AFKing in this game is essentially credit--Yoink!- (harloting, prostituting, call it what you will). Essentially, you sit there like a -Yoink- and win credits.

We’ve got a system that “catches” AFKers, but has a noted impact on low scoring players as well.

As a result, THIS SYSTEM IS FLAWED. Even if one player is wrongly accused, that’s far worse that none at all.

What I propose is so ungodly simple I don’t even understand how it wasn’t discussed at a meeting over in Kirkland.

PRESS X TO RESPAWN

“Hold it, Taco. I don’t want CoD in mah Halo!!!”