A Message For 343

For the first time today, I played the Halo 5 Multiplayer Beta. For the first time today, I was disappointed by a Halo game.

I’ve played Halo all of my life. I started playing it with the very first game when my dad introduced me to it. Ever since, the series has been linked to wonderful memories of my childhood. Every time a new Halo game came out, my dad and I would play through the campaign on co-op, completely unaware of what surprises were in store (we didn’t pay attention to E3 or any other sort of video game news things). Halo 4 was no exception. It was worrying to me that a different company was working on the game, since I had heard Bungie sold the franchise. However, it turned out to be great, and I’ve played it as I have any other Halo game. As you can expect, my dad and I were excited for Halo 5. We were disappointed to discover that it would be only for Xbox One (we only have an Xbox 360 now), but we were excited for the follow-up to Master Chief’s great return anyways.

This brings me to today. I was visiting a friend (who has an Xbox One, as well as the Master Chief Collection) to see the Halo 5 Multiplayer Beta. It was exciting to see the game… until I played it. You can’t imagine my feeling of dread when I tried to throw a grenade. Instead of throwing a grenade ready to detonate, I looked down the sight of my gun. Further experimentation with the rest of the buttons led me to realize what 343 has done. They are making it into a Call of Duty clone.