A Few Forum Suggestions

This post has been edited by a moderator. Please do not repost content a moderator has removed, repost a topic that has been locked, or post about forum moderation decisions. If you have a question or concern about a forum moderation decision, please private message the applicable moderator.

*Original post. Click at your own discretion.

I have had some experience dealing with moderators, they do good work, but I think the forums could be a much better place to discuss if a few ideas were put into effect.

1. When you ban someone, there should be a message of warning before so they can try to explain if it was a misunderstanding or something. Of course, if they do something like bypass the language filter with hyphens and such, there is no way that could be explained, they knew what they were doing. However, I had a 5 day ban one time for posting a joke. A moderator took it as spam, for some reason, and proceeded to ban me. I posted “No, you! Oh and welcome to Waypoint”, which didn’t really contribute, but did I deserve a 5 day ban for it? With my experience, a message telling me what I did wrong would be really helpful. As it stands, you get that message, but only after you are banned so there is no way to view it.
    tl;dr- People should be warned before being banned so they can try to make the moderator understand what they were doing.

2. I think there should be more moderators. Many horrible posts slip through because not enough moderators are online watching. Just now, a thread with the n word in the title was live for at least a half hour. Every one was reporting, including me, and it stayed there. I love the community on here, but if something like that can happen, there is some kind of problem.
    tl;dr- More mods would be very helpful, there are many cases where bad language, leaks, etc. slip through.